Calendar Phishing…

A stranger sends a meeting invitation that you never opened or replied to… But your calendar automatically sets a reminder for the meeting →

As the “meeting” approaches, a reminder pops up on your screen for a meeting that you do not recall. So, you click to see what it is… you have been phished!

> It turns out that your calendar set a reminder for a meeting you did not accept.

Many calendars’ default settings will automatically set reminders prior to the meeting you have been invited to… Even if you did not respond to the invitation.

Typically, when a calendar meeting reminder appears, phishing is not suspected. Most people will click on the displayed reminder to see the details of that notification. As cybercriminals have taken notice of this, they are abusing it as much as possible.

> The link to join the meeting is the phishing link.

It is important to understand the destination of the link before clicking on it. A basic attack attempts to trick the user into clicking on a fake link. This link can lead to a request for personal information or a “drive-by dowload”. Ultimately, this can result in loss of Personally Identifiable Information (PII), downloading adware, or crippling ransomware.

> Apply these simple changes, and prevent it all from happening.

Google Calendar Users:

  • Google Calendar → Settings (gear icon) → Event Settings.
  • Under Event Settings, select “automatically add invitations” option → select “No, only show invitations to which I’ve responded.”
  • Under “view options”, uncheck the “show declined events” option.

Outlook Calendar:

  • Google Calendar → Settings (gear icon) → Event Settings.
  • Under Event Settings, select “automatically add invitations” option → select “No, only show invitations to which I’ve responded.”.
  • Under “view options”, uncheck the “show declined events” option..

Unfortunately, in Outlook, there is not a way to deactivate notifications (yet) but at least we can deactivate automatically accepting meetings.

Spoofing Microsoft

Spoofing Microsoft! “There Has Been an Unusual Sign-in Activity on Your Microsoft Account” Has...

URL Breakdown

So What is a URL?Websites do not actually have "names". They are referred to by numbers;...

WiFi – Free Doesn’t Mean Safe

WiFi – Free Doesn’t Mean Safe Do you rely on Wi-Fi while at a restaurant or hotel?While on...

Auto-fill: Can Lead to Financial Loss

Auto-Fill Can Lead To Financial Loss And Exposure Of Personal Information Is your personal...

Blue Keep

Update Your Windows Operating System, ASAP!The CISA which is the Department of Homeland Security’s...

A Warning Call

Those are fraudulent phone calls, are aiming at stealing your personal information, hoping to either use it in their malicious / criminal activity or sell it on the dark web for other cyber criminals to do so.

Users need to stay alert and refrain from entering any personal information on the sites they find fishy. Always ask first and use a reliable security solution to remain safe.

However, the best treatment remains prevention. Contact DIS for our limited offer on cyber security training to prevent this from happening to you. 

Contact DIS for a free network assessment with full documentation of our findings! Call us at 440.838.4111 or email us at info@discomputers.com

The DIS Difference

Clear Communication

We won't do geek speak - you'll understand exactly what we are doing with progress reports in between!

Problem Solving

Our goal is to solve your technical issues as quickly as possible. Our employees are compensated to fix issues faster!

Technology Consulting

If it involves technology, we can advise you. From managing your technology vendors to consulting on your ERP/CRM.

Find out how we can help...